Greetings from Seattle



Thursday, June 20, 2013

Summer Solstice!

The summer solstice marks the official beginning of summer in the northern hemisphere.  

The timing of the solstice depends on when the sun reaches the farthest point north of the equator.  Obviously that is not happening in the western hemisphere, because our solstice is tonight.

Just when?  Well, that depends on where you live.  On Universal Time the solstice occurs at 5:04 AM on Friday, June 21.
In the US:
     Friday, June 21
           Eastern Daylight Time - 1:04 AM
           Central DT - 12:04 AM
     Thursday, June 20
            Mountain DT - 11:04 PM
            Pacific DT - 10:04 PM

For me, this is Solstice Day! I sorta' feel the need to dance around a bonfire!  But it's going to rain this afternoon and maybe tonight.  I might have to wait until Saturday to celebrate the sun!

Happy Solstice, everyone!



10 comments:

  1. We have to wait until Friday. It was a beautiful day both yesterday and today, though, and it sure felt like summer has arrived.

    ReplyDelete
  2. You will get the jump on us. I'm on the Friday schedule. We have been in the 90's all week. Think it is here.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Even so, Friday is really the first day of summer, since it's happening late at night. It was sure wet out there today, I have to tell you! :-)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Why don't you go for a good bonfire. Celebrate! Have a great summer Solstice.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Ah, the summer solstice, my favorite day of the year, since I love light! Yesterday didn't count - too late, too wet, too dark. Today is better even though the lake is pretty cold.

    ReplyDelete
  6. It's perpetual summer in Hawaii. Enjoy the sunshine.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sigh... I'm afraid here in Hawaii, I hardly notice the change from spring to summer.

    ReplyDelete

I would love to read your comments. Since I link most posts to Facebook, you may comment there if you do not have an account. I have eliminated Anonymous comments due to spammers.